JOINT LETTER TO THE MINISTER OF BASIC EDUCATION FROM CENTRE FOR CHILD LAW, CALS, EE, EE LAW CENTRE, SECTION 27 AND LRC

Ms A Motshekga

Minister of Basic Education

Tel: (012) 357 4026

Fax: (012) 323 5989

 

Mr B Soobrayan

Director-General: Department of Basic Education

Tel: (012) 357 3000 / (021) 465 7350

Fax: (012) 323 5989 / (021) 461 4788

 

15 August 2012

 

Dear Minister Motshekga and Director-General Soobrayan,

We refer to our letter dated 21 June 2012, to which we have received no direct response.

In that letter we invited you to convene an urgent meeting of the relevant role players, including the signatories to this letter, to discuss a sustainable strategic plan to address the immediate and long-term systemic failures in the provision of the right to basic education.

We note that, on 28 June 2012, Mr Panyaza Lesufi indicated in the media that the Department of Basic Education had approached the Nelson Mandela Foundation with a view to arranging an Education Summit to address pressing issues in basic education. However, we have heard no further details of this intended Education Summit.

The matters raised in our letter of 21 June 2012 are inherently urgent and threaten the operation of the public education system. We accordingly request that consider our request for further engagement with a view to finding workable solutions.

Yours sincerely,

SECTION27

Contact: Mark Heywood

T: 011 356 4103

C: 083 634 8806

F: 011 339 4311

E: heywood@section27.org.za

The Legal Resources Centre

Contact: Sarah Sephton

T: 046 6229230

C: 083 410 7646

F: 046 6223933

E: sarah@lrc.org.za

The Centre for Child Law

Contact: Ann Skelton

T: 012 4204502

C: 0824432702

F: 012 4204502

E: ann.skelton@up.ac.za

Equal Education

Contact: Doron Isaacs

T: 021 387 0022

C: 082 850 2111

F:  086 516 9396

E: doron@equaleducation.org.za

Equal Education Law Centre

Contact: Dmitri Holtzman

T: 021 461 1421

C:082 733 5000

F:086 572 4675

E:dmitri@eelawcentre.org.za

CALS

Contact: Zeenat Sujee

T:011 717 8607

C:083 457 8227

F:011 717 1702

E:Zeenat.Sujee@wits.ac.za

Joint follow up letter DBE final 15 August 2012o

Joint Open letter to DBE 21 June 2012